Healthy Unstuffed Cabbage Rolls

When I was little my mom used to make a cabbage soup whenever she was on her Weight Watchers diets.  Try as I might (and I very much tried as a chubby high school student) I could never stomach it.  The cabbage just grossed me out.  But it is so healthy that I have tried in various ways in my adult life, never to love it.  However, this my friends is a cabbage recipe for cabbage haters!  It is so tasty and delicious even my two year old eats it and says yummy!!!

Ingredients:

1 small-medium head of cabbage

1/2 white onion

2-3 garlic cloves

2-4 sticks of celery

1 lb ground meat – I used a mix of turkey and beef this time

1 pint of chopped tomatoes – a large can could work

1 tbs tomato paste

1/2 c vegetable or chicken broth

1/2 c water

1 tbs cumin

1 tbs oregano

1 tsp basil

2 bay leaves

salt and pepper to taste

 

Method:

First is my favorite part.  Chop your veggies while you let your meat brown.  I once worked as a soux chef at a Caribbean restaurant and my job on Saturday mornings was to hand chop veggies for all the salsas and sauces and I loved it!  Weird I know but there is something to the rhythm of it all that I find calming. IMG_4938 -1

Once the meat has browned, drain the excess oil, and then mix with tomatoes, paste, garlic, onion, celery, herbs, and liquids and bring to a simmer. It should look colorful and lovely! IMG_4946 -1

Next fold in the cabbage.  Cover and let cook on medium heat 15-20 minutes or until cabbage and veggies are tender.  The broth and the tomatoes will turn the cabbage a gorgeous and yummy golden color.  Cool and enjoy!! IMG_4955 -1

Happy Cooking!!

Leave a comment